Wooden sheds and a six-room house for the lighthouse-keeper were added incrementally as needed. In 1934 Spring Point Ledge Light was erected and the houses around Bug Light were demolished and the lighthouse keeper tended to both lighthouses. The lighthouse was abandoned in 1943 as the breakwater entering the harbor receded.
Today this light is currently active. It was fully restored in 1989 and was reactivated in 2002. And it is a really cool place to explore!